Penalties for Sex Offenses in Utah
Utah categorizes sex offenses in different brackets, each with its’ legal penalties. The State’s legislature has increased the minimum mandatory term for imprisonment for these offenses in the past. As such, when faced with such charges, leave nothing to chance. Contact Wasatch Defense Lawyers for a free case review to start building your defense today!
Penalties for Sexual Assault Charge
Though deemed a secondary charge in Utah, sexual assault penalties can be fatal.It stands to add extra 6+ years to the minimum primary sentence charge. And as a first-degree felony, there is no escaping Utah’s sex offenders’ registry. This can be devastating even if you manage to bargain for a reduced sentence on your first charge. The most common scenario for sexual assault penalties is 10 to 15 years for a start. If your defense team happens to sleep on the job you stand to lose out more. Things can escalate to life imprisonment or worse life imprisonment with no parole. Therefore, to avoid grievous consequences, hire the best defense attorneys.
Penalties for Sexual Abuse Charge
According to the Utah legislature, sexual abuse covers a wide degree of charges depending on the type of assault. If the plaintiff is a minor (below years of consent usually 18 years) the penalties fall under the child abuse charge. Such charges are treated as statutory charges and will continue to hold even if the child willingly participated. Child sexual abuse charges are usually considered as secondary charges in Utah. However, if charged with aggravated child sexual abuse, you stand a first-degree felony which has more stringent penalties. You stand a minimum of 15 years to life imprisonment or lifetime with no parole if bodily harm was caused and if you had a previous sexual offense charge. If the plaintiff was above 14 years of age, your case might be treated as forcible sexual abuse. Though a secondary charge, if bodily harm was caused the charge may change to the first-degree felony and carry a 15 year to life penalty.
Penalties for Rape Charge
Rape charges are taken up as serious offenses in the state of Utah. In rape charges, an adult is considered to be 14 years and above. This is contrary to sexual abuse charges where adults are considered to be above the 18-year threshold. Guilty offenders of adult rape charge stand a mandatory sentence of 5 years on the low end. However, the time can shoot up to a minimum of 15 years or more if the court deems it appropriate. As for a child rape case (a first-degree felony), the minimum mandatory sentence is 25 years to life. Life without parole is still on the table if bodily harm was done. Rape committed by a juvenile or when the accused was still considered a minor must incur a sentence with parole. Such charges still incur the minimum sentences with zero exclusion as a previous offense.
Penalties for Enticing a Minor Charge
The magnitude of enticing a minor charge penalty is tied up to a couple of reasons. First, on establishing what happened and next find out what was possibly intended. In Utah, such offenses are treated as class A Class A misdemeanor. They carry a penalty of up to 1 year of jail time or a $2,500 fine for persons below 18 years. Adults caught guilty of enticing minors face jail time of 5 years, permanent criminal record and a possible fine of $5000 to $10,000.
Penalties for Child Pornography Charge
Whether found guilty of producing, distributing or creating child pornography, you face some charges ranging from imprisonment to harsh fines. Such charges are treated as a second-degree felony with a jail term of 6 months to 15 years. You also stand to face fines of up to $10,000 if found guilty.
Penalties for Indecent Exposure Charge
A charge of indecent exposure can incur harsh penalties depending on previous records and the nature of the offense. If a first or second-time offense, the charge is regarded as class B misdemeanor punishable by a maximum fine of $2,500 or six-month jail time, if convicted.
Three or more violations trigger a third-degree felony punishable by five years of jail time or a maximum fine of $5000 if guilty.
Get a Free Case Evaluation from Wasatch Defense Lawyers for Sex Charges in Salt Lake City, UT
We are criminal defense attorneys in Salt Lake City, Utah specializing in sex crimes defense. Our reliable, responsive lawyers immediately get to work to reduce charges, keep you out of jail, and keep you off the sex offender registry, or even getting the whole case dropped. Don’t hesitate, giving us a call today. We offer a free, confidential case review, military discounts, and payment arrangements.
- 10 Common Mistakes to Avoid After Getting Arrested - February 8, 2023
- Holiday DUI Checkpoints in Utah – Know Your Rights - December 16, 2022
- 5 Common False Beliefs About Domestic Abuse and Sexual Violence - December 2, 2022