Voyeurism Defense Lawyer in Utah
Being charged with voyeurism or a similar offense can profoundly affect your relationships, your reputation and your job. If you, a family member or loved one has been charged with voyeurism or other similar charges, it is crucial that you seek immediate representation by an experienced, voyeurism defense lawyer in Utah to determine your legal options and prepare the most effective defense strategy for the best possible outcome.
For your free, no-obligation consultation, contact Wasatch Defense Attorneys today at 801-845-3509. We have several decades of experience in the state of Utah and have won hundreds of jury trials and have been very successful in numerous acquittals involving voyeurism charges.
What is Voyeurism?
Utah’s legal definition of voyeurism is the attempt to view or secretly record a person for the purpose of viewing any part of that person’s body, clothed or unclothed. Also known as ‘peeping Tom,’ the crime of voyeurism occurs without consent and under circumstances where the individual or individuals have an appropriate expectation of privacy.
The offense of voyeurism is an invasion of privacy that may carry harsh penalties under Utah criminal code 76-9-702.5. Penalties may include jail time and/or monetary fines depending on the nature of the offense and other violations that mandate elevated penalties in the Beehive state.
Voyeurism Laws in Utah
Effective in 2017, voyeurism statutes in the state of Utah now include both non-tech driven voyeurism and the use of any type of technology to surreptitiously record video of another person’s body. In Utah, the charge of voyeurism can fall into three categories, each with penalties ranging from a class B misdemeanor to a very serious third degree felony charge. Here are the three main types of voyeurism that can be charged in the state of Utah:
- Peeping Tom – Voyeurism involving the defendant secretly viewing others without their consent in situations like undressing, engaging in sexual activity or other instances where the individual(s) have a reasonable expectation of privacy in public or in their homes. This offense can carry class B misdemeanor charges punishable by up to six months jail time and fines of up to $1,000.
- An Invasion of Privacy Using an Electronic Recording Device – Voyeurism involving an electronic recording device carries a potential class A misdemeanor penalty that may include fines of up to $2,500 and/or up to five years in prison. The distribution, sale, transmission or display of video or images will elevate charges to a third degree felony resulting in up to five years in prison and/or $5,000 in fines. If distribution involves a child under 14 years of age, the violation is charged as a second degree felony.
- Voyeurism Involving a Minor – The classification of charges for the crime of voyeurism involving a minor, 14 years old or younger, will be automatically increased by one degree for both juvenile defendants and adult defendants.
In this age of technology, it has become increasingly common for individuals to misuse their tech devices by invading another’s privacy. If you are facing charges of voyeurism in Salt Lake City and surrounding areas, contact Wasatch Defense Lawyers today for your no-obligation, free case review.
Choose an Experienced Voyeurism Defense Team in Utah
Our compassionate voyeurism defense lawyers believe that everyone deserves a fair trial. During this difficult time, Wasatch Defense Lawyers are here for you and your family to answer questions, safeguard your legal rights and prepare an aggressive defense and help you fight back! We offer payment plans and military discounts.