Being charged with driving on a suspended or revoked driver’s license in Utah is a serious, potentially life-altering offense. While the exact outcome will vary depending on the reason your license was originally suspended or revoked, penalties can include hefty fines, an extension of the license suspension or revocation, and even jail time.
To avoid receiving the most severe punishment, it’s important that you contact Salt Lake City driver’s license restoration attorneys who are knowledgeable about driving on a suspended or revoked license and other traffic violations. We have extensive experience providing criminal defense representation and successfully navigating the Utah courts, which enables us to provide the best possible outcome for your driving on a suspended or revoked driver’s license case.
If you have been accused of driving on a suspended or revoked license in Utah, Call us at (801) 980-9965 or complete our online form today to schedule your free case review.
Our team of driver’s license restoration attorneys is prepared to listen to your situation without any judgment and offer you legal expertise on what you should do in order to protect your rights and defend yourself against driving on a suspended or revoked license charges in Salt Lake City.
Driving on a Suspended or Revoked License Laws in Utah
In Utah, driving with a suspended or revoked license is a crime punishable by substantial fines or even jail time. Utah uses a points-based system to determine when someone’s driver’s license should be suspended. Under Utah Code § 53-3-221(4)(a), drivers can receive points for infractions such as speeding, driving without insurance, and driving under the influence of alcohol. A driver’s license can also be suspended or revoked in relation to certain criminal convictions.
If your driver’s license is suspended or revoked and you are found driving in Salt Lake City, you will most likely be charged with a Class C misdemeanor (Utah Code § 53-3-227(2)), although the circumstances of each case can have an effect on the outcome. In some cases, including driving under the influence of alcohol or a controlled substance or refusing to submit to test to determine if you are driving under the influence, you may be charged with a Class B misdemeanor.
Consequences You Face if Found Guilty of Driving on a Suspended or Revoked License in Utah
If you are found guilty of driving on a revoked or suspended driver’s license, you will be facing a minimum of $750 in fines and up to 90 days in jail if convicted of a Class C misdemeanor, while a Class B misdemeanor carries a $1,000 fine and a maximum of six months in jail. You may also face a longer suspension or revocation period than you originally were and may have to get more costly vehicle insurance.
Why Choose the Wasatch Defense Lawyers?
- Client-Centered Approach
- Our Aggressive Approach Gets Favorable Results
- High Ethical Standards
- Cost-Effective Legal Service
- Military Discounts Available
- Fluent German and Spanish Speaking Attorneys
Charged With Driving on a Suspended or Revoked License in Utah? Get a Free Case Evaluation
No matter how minor or unfounded the accusations against you may seem, your life will change dramatically if you are found guilty. Having the right driver’s license restoration attorneys in your corner when you are facing a serious charge such as driving on a suspended or revoked license is of the utmost importance.
If you have been charged with driving on a suspended or revoked driver’s license in Utah, an experienced criminal defense attorney may be able to help you retain your rights. Contact our law firm today online or at (801) 980-9965 for a free consultation.