In Utah, a charge of battery is a very serious offense. If you are involved in a conviction of battery, you need to protect yourself with a good battery defense lawyer. This is the most efficient way to avoid a worst-case scenario quite literally here. Through the professional case experience of our criminal defense team, we are capable of giving you the outcome you expect.
Let us listen to you and provide you with legal advice for your particular case. We will defend your rights in a prosecution case in Utah if you are charged in this state. Contact our battery defense lawyer today, or fill out our online form to schedule a complimentary and personalized review of your case.
Battery Laws in Utah
Did you know that in the state of Utah the charge of assault is not the same as battery? Battery is an offense where you are charged with physically assaulting someone. Battery in Utah is a different charge than assault.
Assault in Utah is related to an act of violence that leads to an injury. However, when you are charged with battery in Utah, in almost all cases you are also charged with assault. Of course there is always an exception, and in this case, it is when sexual assault constitutes battery. This happens when there is an underlying act of assault within the charge of battery.
Consequences You Face if Found Guilty of Battery in Utah
Utah Criminal Code 76-5-102 covers the offenses of assault and battery in this state. You can be charged with a Class A or Class B misdemeanor as a result of an assault case. The penalty associated with the Class A misdemeanor for assault is up to one year in jail and fines not to exceed $2,500. The Class B misdemeanor comes with a penalty of up to six months in jail.
However, if the charge is found to be excessive, you could be charged with a felony. If so, you will have a penalty of up to $10,000 and 15 years max in prison. This may include aggravated sexual battery or other sexual battery charges.
Charged With Battery in Utah? Get a Free Case Evaluation
Even if the allegations are completely false. Even if all evidence says you are not at fault. Even if you had a perfect reputation before the battery charge in Utah. All of this means nothing if you are charged with battery. The state may take everything you own. Start out with the right legal firm supporting you. In a charge of sodomy or other sexual battery charges, a skilled criminal defense attorney is essential.
At Wasatch Defense Lawyers, we offer a free and confidential case review for all new clients. We can make your chance of obtaining your freedom.
Choose Our Battery Defense Attorney in Utah
If you need assistance with payments, check out our Criminal Defense Lawyer Legal Fees page. We also give discounts to those in the military. Contact Wasatch Defense Lawyers in Salt Lake City, Utah today or call 801-980-9965 to speak with one of our hardworking lawyers. We are ready to tackle your battery and assault charge as your preferred battery defense attorney.