3rd-Offense DUI in Utah
Charges of DUI are serious in the state of Utah, and a conviction has a high chance of changing one’s life forever. If this is a 3rd offense DUI in Utah, the penalties are heightened. Utah DUI laws and penalties are more forgiving for a first or second offense; however, a 3rd DUI offense Utah could be catastrophic.
In order to avoid the harshest punishments for a DUI in Utah, it is critical to speak with a criminal defense lawyer as soon as possible.
Our experienced team can help you figure out how to avoid jail time for 3rd DUI while also protecting your rights without judgment or reservation. Our expert legal advice will guide you through the process as we defend you against prosecution in Utah for DUI charges. There are a few important points that you should keep in mind.
3rd Offense DUI Laws in the State of Utah
Someone is guilty of driving a motor vehicle under the influence if they are proven to have a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.08 or greater. This can be done either through a blood draw or via Breathalyzer. In some cases, a DUI could even include riding a bicycle.
In some cases, a DUI in Utah could be a misdemeanor offense. For example, a first-time DUI is a misdemeanor offense and even a second-time DUI is a class A misdemeanor. On the other hand, a third-time DUI charge is a felony.
Termed a felony DUI, the justice system in the state of Utah considers a DUI to be a third (or subsequent) DUI if the charges occur within ten years of at least two prior convictions. Therefore, the consequences of a conviction in this scenario could be catastrophic.
The Consequences You Face if You Are Found Guilty of a 3rd Offense DUI in Utah
If you are found guilty of a 3rd offense DUI in the state of Utah, you could face some severe penalties. These include:
- Jail Time: If you are convicted of a third DUI, you face a minimum of 62 days in jail with a maximum of up to five years. The exact length of time is left up to the discretion of the courts.
- Fines: You will also be fined a minimum of $1,500 and a maximum of $5,000 in addition to court costs.
- License: If you refuse to take a DUI test, your vehicle could be seized, your license could be suspended for three years, and your car could be subjected to an ignition interlock device if your license is reinstated
Clearly, the consequences could be severe. You need the help of an experienced DUI lawyer.
Charged with a 3rd Offense DUI in Utah? Get a Free Case Evaluation
No matter how baseless the charges against you might be, you need to have your rights protected by an experienced criminal defense lawyer. At Wasatch Defense Lawyers, we are a team of expert attorneys who will work aggressively to get your charges reduced or dropped altogether. We are fluent in multiple languages and offer military discounts. Contact us today for a free case review!