When it comes to sex offenders, there are a lot of misconceptions about how long they have to register for their crimes. Some people believe that sex offenders are required to register for life, while others assume that the registration period is only a few years.
In reality, the length of time that a sex offender has to register depends on the severity of their crime and individual state laws. In this blog post, we’ll break down the specifics of sex offender registration timelines and what you need to know if you’re affected.
If you are unsure of your rights, call Wasatch Defense Lawyers or use our online contact form request for help from a top sex crimes lawyer.
Click to jump to section:
- Sex Offender Registry for 10 years
- Lifetime Sex Offender Registration
- Sex Offenders FAQ
- Top Criminal Defense Lawyer in Utah
For the following convictions*, offenders must register for 10 years following the date of termination of the sentence**:
- Unlawful Sexual Activity with a Minor
- Unlawful Sexual Conduct with a 16-Year Old or 17-Year Old
- Forcible Sexual Abuse
- Lewdness (4 convictions required for registration)
- Sexual Battery (4 convictions required for registration)
- Lewdness Involving a Child
- Aggravated Human Trafficking
- Custodial Sexual Relations (if victim was under 18 years of age)
- Sexual Exploitation of a Vulnerable Adult
- Sexual abuse of a minor
- Attempting, soliciting, or conspiring to commit any felony offense listed above (or in the “life” list below)
**Two separate convictions of any of the above = lifetime sex offender registration
- For the following convictions, an offender must register for life*:
- Child Kidnapping
- Aggravated Kidnapping
- Enticing a Minor
- Rape of a Child
- Object Rape
- Object Rape of a Child
- Forcible Sodomy
- Sodomy on a Child
- Sexual Abuse of a Child or Aggravated Sexual Abuse of a Child
- Aggravated Sexual Assault
- Sexual Exploitation of a Minor
- Aggravated Exploitation of Prostitution
*Depending on the sentencing date, the registration length of any of these might only be 10 years for an individual (for those sentenced before laws changed).
If you would like additional information about Sex Offenders Register Utah or would like to schedule a FREE Legal Case Review, contact the Wasatch Defense Lawyers in Salt Lake City, Utah
Sex Offenders FAQ
What Can Sex Offenders Not Do in the State of Utah?
- Public parks
- Licensed preschools or daycare facilities
- Public playgrounds
- Public swimming pools open to the public
- Private or public elementary or high schools (outside the grounds of a correctional facility)
- Move to a new address without informing their supervisory authority
- Change jobs without informing their supervisory authority
- Work, reside, or pass through or near the designated child safety zones
- Communicate with minor children under 17 years old
- Have pornography or certain other sex-based materials in their possession
- Communicate with the victims of their sex crimes
- Leaving their county of residence without informing their supervisory authority
- Drinking alcohol or using drugs.
- Failing to report any notable changes to their supervisory authority
- Failing to maintain an appropriate standard of living, including
- Steady employment
- Acceptable living arrangement
- Participation in therapy or a 12-step recovery program
Do Registered Sex Offenders Have To Tell Their Neighbors?
Are You a Sex Offender for Life?
Can a Sex Offender Have a Phone?
What Is the Highest Tier of Sex Offender?
How Do You Get a Sex Offender off Your Record?
Can You Marry a Sex Offender?
What Are the Different Levels of Sex Offenders in Utah?
Sex offenders who are required to be entered into the Utah sex offender registry are judged to present one of three levels of risk to public safety:
Level One: These are convicted people who have been determined to present the lowest risk of committing a repeat offense. They must register with their county sheriff.
Level Two: Offenders assessed as Level Two are found to be a moderate risk to the public as repeat offenders. They must register with the county sheriff’s department. The sheriff will provide notifications at schools, residences, community organizations, and with the offender’s employer.
Level Three: These are people deemed to be at the highest risk of a repeat offense. Entry in the sex offender registry is required. Nearby neighborhoods will be notified that you now live in the area. Flyers with your photo, ID, address and criminal background will be distributed to residences, schools, community organizations, and the offender’s employer. Press releases will go out to local TV stations and newspapers informing the public of the offender’s residency in the area.
Contact the Top Criminal Defense Lawyers Today!
It’s important to understand the registration requirements for your state. Once you know how long your sentence will be, it’s important to understand other requirements as well, such as being prohibited from living near schools or daycares.