Charges for alcohol crimes in Utah are serious, and a conviction could change one’s life forever. To avoid the harshest punishments, it is important to speak with a defense lawyer as soon as possible. Our experience in providing criminal defense representation and successfully navigating the courts allows us to provide you with the best outcome possible for your case. We are ready to listen to your situation without judgment and offer you our expert legal advice on the best steps to protecting your rights and defending yourself against prosecution in Utah.
If you have been accused of an alcohol related crime in Utah, our Salt Lake City criminal defense lawyers are here for you. Call 801-980-9965 or complete our contact form to schedule a FREE case review.
Charged with a DUI
For DUIs, as of December 30, 2018, the Utah DUI limit is .05. If you are caught driving with a higher blood alcohol level, then you will be arrested, your license confiscated, and your vehicle impounded. You will also be ignition interlock restricted, for at least 18 months. A Utah DUI attorney may be able to lower the extent of penalties,or get your case dropped entirely.
Learn More About DUI’s in Utah
Charged with an Open Container
Under the Utah open container law, 41-6a-526, you cannot have an open alcoholic beverage in your car. It cannot be opened, unsealed, or partially consumed—it doesn’t matter if it is in the backseat or the front, it is illegal. Utah open container law penalty falls under a class C misdemeanor. Possible penalties include up to 90 days in jail and a $750 fine.
Charged with Public Intoxication
Public intoxication is exactly what they sound like. Under Utah’s public intoxication law, 76-9-701, you cannot be drunk in public to the extent it seems you may harm someone else. This even includes ‘private places’ if your drunken behavior “unreasonably disturbs others”. The penalty may include jail time and a fine. It is a class C misdemeanor. Penalties increase if you have been charged with public intoxication and resisting arrest in Utah.
Furnishing Alcohol to a Minor
Furnishing to a Minor, under Utah Code 32B-4-403, is selling, trying to sell, or providing alcohol to anyone under the age of 21. This criminal offense is a misdemeanor and may include one year of jail time as well as heavy fines.
Charged with Underage Drinking
If you are caught consuming alcohol under the age of 21, the penalty for underage drinking in Utah includes hundreds of dollars in fines and a suspended driver’s license. If the minor is under 18, they may be tried by the juvenile court.
Consequences You Face if Found Guilty of Alcohol Related Crimes in Utah
As stated above, some of these crimes have violators paying heavy fines, facing jail time, losing their licenses, and having their vehicles ignition interlock restricted. If someone is injured and you are found to be driving under the influence, your jail time can be much longer, and your license could be revoked. Or, for example, if you furnish minors with alcohol, are caught, and are a repeat offender, both your jail time and fines will increase.
Charged with an Alcohol Related Crime in Utah? Get a Free Case Evaluation from Wasatch Defense Lawyers Today
If you are charged with an alcohol related crime in Utah, contact us today for a free evaluation. No matter the circumstances, even if you know you are innocent, it is important to get an experienced attorney on your side as soon as possible.