2nd Offense DUI Attorney in Utah
A 2nd offense DUI is very serious in Utah. In addition to the fines and potential job loss, a 2nd DUI offense comes with mandatory jail time. If you want to try to beat your DUI charges or at least keep your sentence to the minimum, it’s important to speak with adefense lawyer as soon as possible. The experienced attorneys at Wasatch Defense Lawyers are ready to help you navigate the courts and help you secure the best possible outcome for your 2nd offense DUI case. We know people can get a DUI for a number of reasons. We will listen to your situation without judgment while providing expert legal advice on the best way to beat your DUI charges.
If You’ve Neen Charged with DUI in Utah, Contact our Top-Rated Criminal Defense Lawyers to Schedule a Free Case Review
Second Offense DUI Laws in Utah
Utah has enhanced penalties for a second DUI offense. A second DUI is when you’re convicted of DUI for a second time within ten years.DUI convictions older than ten years don’t count for the purposes of a second DUI. If you were charged with DUI and acquitted, had your case dismissed, or pled to a non-DUI offense, that also wouldn’t be considered a DUI for the purposes of 2nd offense DUI.
Like other DUI charges, there are two ways of committing DUI under Utah Code Section 41-6a-503.
- First, a judge or jury may find that you were so impaired by drugs or alcohol that you couldn’t safely operate a vehicle. This can be without a blood alcohol test such as if you were on video stumbling and slurring your speech.
- Second, you are presumed to be impaired if you have a blood alcohol concentration of 0.05% or more. Keep in mind that Utah has a stricter limit than the national limit of 0.08% that most states follow.
A 2nd offense DUI is generally a misdemeanor. It may be upgraded to a felony if you cause serious injuries or death.
Consequences You Face if Found Guilty of 2nd Offense DUI in Utah
The criminal consequences for DUI in Utah are severe.
- Up to six months in jail.
- Minimum 240 hours in jail or a minimum 120 hours in jail plus 720 consecutive hours of home confinement.
- Fines and court assessments of at least $1,560.
- Up to 18 months of supervised probation.
- 90 days to two years of license suspension.
- Having to install an ignition interlock device.
Charged with 2nd DUI Offense in Utah? Schedule a Free Case Evaluation Today!
If you want to avoid Utah’s severe DUI sentencing, contact a DUI attorney Utah as soon as possible. No matter how weak you think the case is, the consequences are too severe to handle on your own. To try to beat the charges or reduce your sentence, contact a DUI lawyer Utah at our firm for a free consultation online or by phone now.