Charges of arson are serious in the state of Utah, and a conviction has a high probability of changing someone’s life forever. In order to avoid the harshest punishment under the law, it is critical for anyone facing these charges to speak with a criminal defense lawyer as quickly as possible. We are an Award-Winning Law Firm in Salt Lake City defending individuals who are being investigated or have been charged, with this type of crime. We can help you navigate the courts and provide you with the best outcome possible in your arson case. We are here to listen to you and help you with your situation without passing any judgment. We will provide you with experienced, thoughtful legal advice on the most appropriate steps to take with regards to your rights and your defense against prosecution for arson charges.
If you have been accused of Arson in Utah, our criminal defense lawyers are here for you. Call us today or complete our contact form online for a FREE case review.
Types of Arson Laws in Utah
For those wondering “what is arson,” the arson definition in Utah is using fire or explosives to damage the property of someone else or for the intent of trying to fool (often called defrauding) an insurance company. For those wondering, “is arson a felony,” anyone who uses fire or explosives to damage property is guilty of either a second-degree felony (often called 2nd-degree arson) or a third-degree felony if the property value exceeds $1,500. If the value of the property is less than $1,500, the crime is considered a misdemeanor as long as the fire does not endanger another person.
1st-degree arson in Utah is typically called aggravated arson, as this is a first-degree felony. Someone is guilty of aggravated arson if fire or explosives are used to damage a structure where someone else is present, such as a habitable structure.
Consequences You Face if Found Guilty of Arson in Utah
Arson punishment in Utah can be stiff. One of the most common aggravating factors is whether or not there was a potential for someone to be injured or killed in the blaze. For 2nd degree arson, the punishment may be as high as $10,000 and up to 15 years in prison. On the other hand, aggravated arson could even carry a penalty of life in prison. The statute of limitations on arson will vary with the degree of arson, ranging from a few years to no statute at all for the most severe types of arson.
Why Choose the Wasatch Defense Lawers?
- Client-Centered Approach
- Our Aggressive Approach Gets Favorable Results
- High Ethical Standards
- Cost-Effective Legal Service
- Military Discounts Available
- Flduent German and Spanish Speaking Attorneys
Charged with Arson in Utah? Get a Free Case Evaluation
No matter how baseless the accusations against you are, or how lacking the evidence might be, a guilty verdict may cause you to lose everything. It is vital for you to have the right law firm in your corner when you are facing charges of arson. If you have been charged with arson, rely on a skilled criminal defense attorney to help you retain your freedom. Call Wasatch Defense Lawyers today or reach out to us using our online form. We are here to help you.