Custodial Sexual Misconduct Defense Lawyer in Utah
Have you been charged with custodial sexual misconduct? Charges of this type are very serious in Utah. A conviction could carry very harsh penalties and ruin your career and relationships. With so much at stake, you can’t afford to wait. Contact a skilled defense attorney who is knowledgeable in the Utah criminal code. Wasatch Defense Lawyers are experienced at providing excellent criminal defense representation. You can count on us to fight for you when you need it the most. We listen non-judgmentally to your situation because we know that you are innocent unless proven guilty. We will offer you expert advice on how you can defend yourself and protect your rights.
If you have been accused of a custodial sexual misconduct crime, then take advantage of a free case consultation. You have nothing to lose and everything to gain. Contact us today at 801-980-9965 or complete our convenient online contact form to schedule your free case review.
Custodial Sexual Misconduct Laws in Utah
Utah state law prohibits sexual activity between parties when one person holds power over another person, whether that person be an adult or child. Utah considers sexual contact of this type to be exploitation of one person over another.
Custodial Relationship Definition
The offense of “custodial sexual misconduct” occurs when law enforcement or correctional officers engage in sexual contact with inmates or detainees. Sexual contact between a prisoner or detainee and a police or correctional officer is still considered to be a criminal act regardless of whether or not the victim has consented to the activity.
Custodial sexual misconduct usually occurs between an inmate of a correctional facility and an individual employed or contracted by the facility. The second type of custodial sexual misconduct occurs between a person under arrest and a law enforcement officer.
Consequences You Face if Found Guilty of Custodial Sexual Misconduct in Utah
If you are found guilty of custodial sexual misconduct, you’ll face some harsh penalties. You could either be charged with a Class A misdemeanor or a third-degree felony.
- Third Degree Felony: Custodial sexual misconduct typically results in felony charges when the victim is a prisoner or under any kind of correctional supervision and under the age of 18. This penalty is usually applied even if the victim is over the age of consent. A sexual misconduct 1st degree or 3rd degree felony charge could result in a fine of up to $5,000 and five years in prison.
- Class A Misdemeanor: A class A misdemeanor punishment applies in most other cases. So, any sexual touching or contact between a correctional or police officer and a prisoner or arrestee would result in a class A misdemeanor. The punishment for this offense is a fine of up to $2,500 and/or a prison sentence of up to one year.
Charged with Custodial Sexual Misconduct in Utah? Get a Free Case Evaluation
If you have been charged with custodial sexual misconduct in Utah, you need an experienced lawyer on your side — no matter how groundless the charges. Why risk your career and freedom? You could lose everything that means the most to you if you are found guilty. A skilled defense attorney can help you. Contact us today for your completely free, no-obligation case review.