You knew you were in trouble as soon as you saw the flashing lights in your rearview mirror. Now you’ve been charged with reckless driving in the State of Utah. That’s very bad news. It could result in a hefty fine, the loss of your driving privileges, trouble with your insurance company and maybe even a jail sentence under certain circumstances.
You need a good reckless driving lawyer if you’ve been charged with such an offense. You need Wasatch Defense Lawyers. First, let’s take a closer look at what reckless driving is all about, and the risk the charge poses to you.
Is Reckless Driving a Misdemeanor in Utah?
Reckless driving laws in Utah make it a class B misdemeanor. That doesn’t sound so bad, at least not compared to a felony. But the penalty is serious and could cause you all kinds of problems.
Utah describes the offense as driving in what’s called “willful and wanton” disregard for property and the safety of others. You can also get charged with reckless driving by committing three or more moving violations within the space of three continuous miles on the road at one time.
“Willful” means that you drove that way on purpose. Driving in a “wanton” manner is the state’s way of saying that you knew and understood the consequences of your actions, but took them anyway.
Consequences if Found Guilty of a Reckless Driving Violation in Utah
If you’re convicted of this Class B misdemeanor, your penalty for reckless driving can include:
- Up to six months in jail
- A fine of as much as $1,000
- Suspension of your drivers license by the state’s Drivers License Division (DLD) for up to three months (this is mandatory if it’s a second offense within 12 months)
- 80 demerit points on your driving record (200 demerit points within three years can lead to the loss of your license)
The penalties get even more severe if the reckless driving charge is made in conjunction with a DUI.
And finally, you have your car insurance company to worry about. A reckless driving conviction will almost certainly raise your premiums considerably, and maybe even get your insurance company to drop your coverage altogether.
Charged With Reckless Driving in Utah? Get a Free Case Evaluation
There are various ways of effectively fighting a reckless driving charge, but you need a legal expert with experience defending against this kind of charge in Utah. You need a reckless driving lawyer from Wasatch Criminal Lawyers.
If you don’t want to take the chance of losing your license, paying a hefty fine and maybe even spending as much as six months behind bars, you need to call us today at (801) 980-9965 or fill out our appointment request form online. We’ll sit down and talk with you and give you a free and confidential case review. We offer payment arrangements and military discounts.
Don’t risk your license, your bank balance and your freedom. Let us fight on your behalf. Contact Wasatch Defense Lawyers today.