Sexual Solicitation Defense
When you think of prostitution, Utah lawmakers think of sexual solicitation. That’s because prostitution covers a whole lot more ground (such as being a prostitute or running a prostitution-related business), but sexual solicitation can still land you in jail for up to six months and/or result in a $1,000 fine if you’re a first time offender. The second time around, you’re looking at up to a year and/or $2,500 in fines. If the person solicited is under the age of 18, you’re now up a third degree felony, meaning you’re now looking at up to 5 years in jail and/or $5,000.
At Wasatch Defense Lawyers, we take care of things so you don’t have. Our sentencing experts know how to aggressively protect your interests and can save you from having a permanent criminal record.
We know how to reduce the charges against you or even get them dismissed entirely. Call us for a no-cost case review today 801.980.9965.
What Is Sexual Solicitation?
The definition of sexual solicitation in Utah is any offer or agreement to pay (whether with cash or something else of significant worth) for “any act of lewdness”.
Now, it may sound old-fashioned, but it includes, but is not limited to:
- Touching or exposure of genitals, buttocks, female breasts below the top of the areola;
- Any form of sexual activity; and
- Anything else that the court may consider similar to the previous items.
Furthermore, only the intent to pay is required for prosecution.
Solicitation of Prostitution
It’s important to note that sexual solicitation is technically separate from patronizing a prostitute in Utah law. That’s because the prostitute doesn’t have to be personally involved in the process in order for you to be guilty of sexual solicitation, as well as the fact that you can be charged with sexual solicitation regardless of whether you were seeking out a prostitute or not.
It’s also important to note that you can still be charged with sexual solicitation even if you have never met nor spoken to the actual prostitute. Whether you simply agreed to meet a price or negotiated with a third party or any variation thereof, the law can still charge you for sexual solicitation.
Sexual Solicitation of a Minor
Sometimes known as solicitation of child prostitution, the sexual solicitation of anyone under the age of 18 is considered especially offensive in Utah, which is why sexual solicitation is only a Class B misdemeanor while the sexual solicitation of a minor is a third degree felony. That means a permanent felony record, more jail time, and higher fines. Which is precisely why it’s key to hire the proper defense attorney to protect your rights and your life.
Best Defense Attorneys in Salt Lake City
The main issue is not the fine, if it were you wouldn’t particularly need a lawyer. It’s about protecting your reputation, maintaining your quality of life. You need to know you’ve done everything you can to get the best possible aggressive, legal representation and outcome. You need an experienced lawyer because:
- You can’t always simply pay the fine.
- Even after you pay the fine, a Class B misdemeanor stays on your record for 4 years.
- After 4 years, you’re going to have to go to court again if you want to remove it from your record.
Wasatch Defense Attorneys has 100+ years experience in dealing with these kinds of situations and protecting your legal rights and lifestyle. Take advantage of our expertise and insight so you can rest easy knowing we’ll do everything in our power to get you a favorable result in court.
Contact our sexual solicitation defense attorneys at 801.980.9965 for a confidential, no-obligation case review.
Guard Your Rights
Do NOT Waive Your Right to Legal Counsel! Authorities will try get you to incriminate yourself and suggest there is no need for an attorney. Stay calm and call us immediately: 801.980.9965
Experience You Can Trust
We have represented thousands of clients, with countless difficulties and challenges, for more than 100 years. Less than 1% of our clients have ever been incarcerated.
Compassionate & Aggressive
Whether you have a family, financial, or criminal matter – our ethical, caring attorneys listen to YOU and use their expertise and a strong, hands-on approach to get you the best result.
Latest posts by Craig R. Chlarson (see all)
- Why You Absolutely Need a Lawyer if Charged with a Sex Crime (even if you’re innocent) - October 17, 2017
- How to Behave in a Courtroom - October 17, 2017
- Assault vs. Battery vs. Aggravated Assault - August 31, 2017