Child Pornography is defined as a visual depiction of sexually explicit conduct in pictures, video, live performances or computer-generated images involving anyone under the age of 18. Producing material by creating, manufacturing, modifying or adapting a sexually explicit visual depiction of an identifiable minor is also considered child pornography. Under both federal law and Utah criminal code 76-5b-103, it is illegal to distribute, sell or produce child pornography in any form.
An individual charged with child pornography in the state of Utah faces potentially severe local and federal penalties. If you or your family member has been taken into custody for child pornography or a similar offense, it is crucial that you do not talk to law enforcement officials before seeking professional legal representation from an experienced child pornography defense lawyer in Utah first.
Contact Wasatch Defense Attorneys immediately at 801-845-3509 for your free, no-obligation case review and consultation. With several decades of criminal defense in Utah, including sex we have the experience and resources to determine your best legal options and prepare an aggressive and effective strategy for your defense.
Sexually Explicit Conduct Definition in Utah
The Sexual Exploitation Act defines sexually explicit conduct in Utah as actual or simulated conduct, including:
- Sexual Intercourse (between the same or opposite sex)
- Lascivious Exhibition
- Sadistic or Masochistic Sexual Activity
- Explicit Representation of Defecation or Urination
Simulated sexually explicit conduct is defined as a pretend or feigned act, within the perception of an average individual, that duplicates the appearance of actual sexually explicit conduct from the above-listed acts.
Distribution of Intimate Images and Child Pornography
In Utah, the distribution of child pornography may include exhibiting, displaying, giving, selling or otherwise transferring any form of child pornography, with or without consideration. The distribution of child pornography in Utah is charged as a second-degree felony that carries harsh penalties of up to $10,000 in fines and/or 1-15 years imprisonment.
Individuals charged with the distribution of child pornography may also be charged with distribution of intimate images. The legal definition of an intimate image in the State of Utah is a visual depiction of genitals, female breast or an individual engaged in sexually explicit conduct with less than an opaque covering. The distribution of an intimate image in Utah is a class A misdemeanor that may be elevated to a third-degree felony with the conviction of a subsequent offense.
Sexual Exploitation of a Minor in Utah
Charges including child pornography fall under Utah laws for sexual exploitation of a minor. Under Utah criminal code 76-5b-201 the sexual exploitation of a minor prohibits the following:
- The Possession of Child Pornography
- Possession with the Intent to Distribute Child Pornography
- Producing Child Pornography
- Intentional Distribution of Child Pornography
- Knowingly Permitting or Consenting to the Sexual Exploitation of a Minor
Wasatch Defense Attorneys will employ our winning strategy that has been successful in numerous acquittals for child pornography charges and won hundreds of jury trials in The Beehive State.
Contact an Experienced Child Pornography Defense Team in Utah Today
Our compassionate child pornography defense lawyers agree that everyone deserves a fair trial. Wasatch Defense Lawyers are here for you and your family during this difficult time. Our criminal defense attorneys and team members have decades of experience and will be here for you to answer any questions you may have and prepare the best possible defense strategy to safeguard your legal rights and help you fight back! We offer payment plans and are proud to extend discounts to members of the US Military.
- What are Catfishing Lures, and How Can They Get You Arrested? - May 28, 2021
- How Is Testing Drivers for Marijuana Different than for Alcohol - May 27, 2021
- What Effect Do Energy Drinks Have on Drunk Driving? - May 10, 2021