There are 7,809 people listed in the sex offender registry Utah maintains through the Department of Corrections. That includes 2,037 who are on probation or parole and another 3,667 who are no longer incarcerated, on probation, or on parole but who still must register (August 2020). The laws governing the registry are lengthy and very detailed. Below are answers to some of the most common questions about the Utah Sex Offender & Kidnap Offender Registry.
This information is to help you understand some of the essential responsibilities and restrictions of people who are entered into the registry.
What You Should Know About the Sex Offender Registry
For complete details about the registry, see the Utah Department of Corrections website. Here’s a list of helpful sex offender registry facts to help you familiarize yourself with the laws:
What Is the Purpose of the Sex Offender Registry?
The Utah sex offender registry is a publicly transparent tracking system for monitoring sex offenders after their release from serving their sentences back into their communities.
How Long Do People Have To Stay on the Registry?
A person may be required to stay registered for either 10 years or for his or her lifetime. To see which term is required for a specific crime, see the Department of Corrections community notifications page accessible through the link.
In cases of some particular crimes, the convicted person can be allowed to petition the court for a reduced term on the registry. Five years after completing his or her sentence, an individual convicted of one of the offenses listed as eligible for reduced registry time can ask the court to approve early removal.
Where Do People Register?
The Utah Department of Corrections maintains the Utah Sex Offender & Kidnap Offender Registry. The DOC monitors offenders who are currently under the supervision of Adult Probation and Parole (AP&P). All other people registered are monitored by their local law enforcement authority, such as their county sheriff.
Utah Department of Corrections Requirements for Registering
To register with the Utah Sex Offender & Kidnap Offender Registry:
|Offenders who are currently under AP&P supervision:||Register with AP&P|
|Offenders who are no longer under AP&P supervision:||Register with your local sheriff’s department, municipal police department, or other primary law enforcement authority responsible for registration at your location.|
When Are People Required to Register?
Offenders are required to re-register two times each year:
- Register during the month of your birth date.
- Register during the month which is six months after the month in which you have your birth date.
Every time you make one of these changes, you must register within three business days:
- When you move to a different primary residence,
- When you change a secondary residence,
- When you change jobs to a new place of employment
- When you get a different vehicle or change vehicle information
- When you change your educational information.
Offenders entering Utah from another state of residence must register within 10 days of arriving in Utah, regardless of how brief your length of stay is intended to be. See the list of offenses that require registration in this state under Utah Code 77-41-102 (9,17), accessible through the link.
Who Can Get Removed From the Registry Early?
Offenders convicted of a crime listed on the Department of Corrections community notifications webpage, accessible through the link, might be eligible to petition for removal from the sex offender registry five years after they have completed their sentence. Crimes for which offenders may be eligible to be removed early include those indicated on the list and possibly others.
Best Defense Lawyer for Sex Crime Charges, Utah
The Wasatch Defense Lawyers have decades of experience in Utah sex crime cases. If you have been charged with a serious sex offense in Utah, your freedom and future are at stake. You need the best criminal defense lawyer specializing in sex crime cases to protect all your rights and build the most effective defense for you.
If you need legal help regarding the Utah sex offender registry, call Wasatch Defense Lawyers, at (801) 980-9965, or contact us here online to discuss your situation
- Holiday DUI Checkpoints in Utah – Know Your Rights - December 16, 2022
- 5 Common False Beliefs About Domestic Abuse and Sexual Violence - December 2, 2022
- Crimes of Sexual Violence in Utah - November 23, 2022