In Utah, a registered sex offender is required to follow constraints as to where they can go or travel and how frequently they need to update information for Utah’s sex offender registry. Depending on the crime and the level of sex offender, they may also have restrictions as to if and when they can invite any child to accompany them anywhere. If you are curious to learn more about Utah’s laws regarding sex offenders, read on.
The Protected Zones That Are Off-Limits to Sex Offenders Who Have Been Convicted of a Sex Crime
Those who have been convicted of a sex crime against a child are not allowed in five zones where children frequent. The length of the time that they are prohibited from attending these areas is based on how long they are required to register as a sex offender. As long as they remain on the registry, they must stay away. The five protected zones include licensed day cares and preschools, swimming pools that are open to the public, both public and private primary and secondary schools that are not located at a correctional facility, a community park that is open to the public and playgrounds that are open to the public. If a sex offender is found to have visited one or more of these places, they can be charged with a felony.
How Long a Sex Offender Remains on the Sex Offender Registration Based on Their Crime
The length of time a sex offender is required to register is based on the crimes they committed. In the state of Utah, an offender is required to register twice a year. Once on their birth month and once six months after their birth month. They are required to provide their address, secondary address, place of employment, vehicle information and a current picture when they register. If they fail to register, they may be charged with a felony.
In the state of Utah, a sex offender must register for 10 years after they have completed their sentence if they were convicted of, plead guilty to or plead no contest to these charges:
- Aggravated human trafficking
- Custodial sexual relations of a child under 18 years of age
- Forcible sexual abuse
- 4 or more convictions for lewdness
- Lewdness involving a minor
- 4 or more convictions for sexual battery
- Sexual abuse of a minor
- Sexual exploitation of a vulnerable adult
- Unlawful sexual activity with a minor
- Unlawful sexual conduct with a 16 or 17-year-old
- Attempting, soliciting or conspiring to commit any felonies offenses in this list or the life registry list below
While each of these convictions carries a 10-year sex offender registration requirement, the registration requirement changes to lifetime registration requirement if the individual is convicted of two or more separate convictions during the course of their life.
If an individual is convicted of, pleads guilty to or pleads no contest to certain crimes in the state of Utah, they must register as a sex offender for life. Those charges include:
- Aggravated exploitation of prostitution
- Aggravated kidnapping
- Aggravated sexual assault
- Child kidnapping
- Enticing a minor
- Forcible Sodomy
- Object rape of an adult or child
- Rape of an adult or child
- Sexual abuse or aggravated sexual abuse of a child
- Sexual exploitation of a minor
- Sodomy on a child
It is important to note that sex offender laws changed in 2008. As such, those convicted before the laws changed may only have to register for 10 years after their release for these crimes based on the laws that were in place when they were convicted. Those convicted after the laws changed in 2008 have to register as a sex offender for their entire life if they were found guilty of one of these crimes.
Latest posts by Craig R. Chlarson (see all)
- State and Federal Charges for the Same Crime - March 9, 2018
- Surprising Ways of Becoming a Sex Offender in Utah - January 31, 2018
- Why You Absolutely Need a Lawyer if Charged with a Sex Crime (even if you’re innocent) - October 17, 2017