A statutory rape case in Utah occurs when a person who is above 18 years of age engages a minor (18 years or younger) in any form of sexual activity. This is so even with the minor’s consent. Statutory rape is based on the supposition that a minor is not capable of making an informed decision regarding any sexual activity.
Statutory Rape Cases in Utah
- Child rape – in this case, the accused who is 18 years or older engages in sexual intercourse with a minor of 13 years or below.
- Object rape – this is a unique charge in which the sexual penetration between the adult and the minor was with an object rather than a body part.
- Sexual abuse of a minor or a child – this is a statutory rape case which involves touching of a minor by an adult with the intent to sexually gratify or arouse either or both individuals.
The penalties differ depending on the degree of the crime, with higher degree crimes receiving severe punishments. Some of them may include imprisonment, fines, or entry into the sex offender registry.
What Should I Do if I’m Accused of Statutory Rape?
The result of a statutory rape conviction could negatively affect the rest of your life by limiting your employment opportunities or even compromising your professional license. This is why you should immediately acquire and consult an aggressive criminal defense attorney as soon as you have been charged. Apart from that, there are a few things that you can observe for a favorable outcome.
- In most statutory rape cases, a restraining order is issued prohibiting you from contacting or seeing the victim. Obey such restrictions whether you are guilty or not. Failure to do so could cause you to face additional charges besides aggravating your case.
- Collect and preserve any evidence that supports your defense. Such evidence could include text messages, receipts, emails, or any other documentation that proves that you were not near where the incident is purported to have taken place.
- As with any other case, the police or any other person is bound to interrogate or question you on the case. Avoid answering any question in the absence of your attorney. Keep in mind that anything you say could be used against you in a court of law.
Statutory Rape Defense Lawyers in Utah
A statutory rape accusation is often devastating to the accused because of the stigma that accompanies it. The case is even worse if the accusation is false. Whether guilty or not, you need experienced legal representation to ensure that your rights are protected and prepare your defense. Wasatch Defense Lawyers understand the gravity of a statutory rape accusation, and with our extensive experience, we can navigate the legal system for a favorable outcome. Our different payment plans make it possible for anyone to acquire our bespoke services. We also offer military discounts. Contact us today at 801 845 3427 for a free and confidential case review.
- What To Know About a DUI with a Commercial Driver’s License - June 11, 2020
- When Can a Defendant Use an Insanity Defense - June 10, 2020
- Is Being Drunk a Valid Defense to Rape Charges in Utah? - June 9, 2020