Unlawful Sexual Conduct With a 16 or 17-Year-Old in Utah
Being charged with a sex crime often causes extreme difficulties for the accused. Suddenly, he or she is suspected and doubted even by their closest friends and family members. The defendant becomes isolated from people who have distanced themselves from them when they need them most. That circumstance can be even worse for anyone in Utah who is charged with unlawful sexual conduct with a minor child of age 16 or 17.
Sexual conduct with a minor can be charged as a felony sex crime in Utah that carries a potentially long prison sentence, financially devastating fines, and at least 10 years on the sex offender registry in Utah. Altogether, that amounts to a very damaged or ruined future. So, if you are accused of this sex crime, you need to work with the best sex crimes defense lawyer Utah has to offer.
What is Unlawful Sexual Conduct With a Minor Aged 16-17?
Unlawful Sexual Conduct Meaning
If a person in a position of trust and authority knows he/she is at least 7 years older than a child and engages in one of these sexual actions with a minor age 16 or 17, he/she commits the crime:
- Sexual intercourse
- A sexual act involving the mouth or anus of the perpetrator or victim and the genitals of the other person
- Touching the victim’s breasts, genitals, buttocks, or anus
- Penetrating the genitals or anus with the intent to arouse or gratify any person’s sexual desire or to cause pain
How Criminal Charges are Classed in Utah
2 Primary Classes of Crimes, and 3 Degrees of Harm in Each
Utah categorizes crimes into misdemeanors and felonies. Some serious misdemeanor crimes carry months of jail time, large fines, and a criminal record if convicted. The penalties for felonies are, of course, more severe. The two categories are further subdivided into classes of offenses:
|Categories of Crime||Sub-Classes of Crime Levels in Each Category|
|Misdemeanors||Class A, Class B, and Class C|
|Felonies||First Degree, Second Degree, and Third Degree|
Class A and First Degree are the most severe charges in their class of crimes.
Unlawful sexual conduct with a minor of age 16 or 17 is charged either as a Class A Misdemeanor or a Third Degree, based on the particular details of the offense.
Charges and Penalties
Charges and Penalties for Unlawful Sexual Conduct with a 16- or 17-Year-Old in Utah
The charges and conviction for this type of offense will be in one of the following two categories and classes of crime under the Utah Code and carries the following penalties:
|Class A Misdemeanor:||Maximum 1 year in jail
Maximum $2,500 fine
|Third Degree Felony:||Maximum 5 years in prison
Maximum $5,000 fine
Additional Penalties and Other Consequences of Conviction
- The convicted person must register in the Utah sex offender registry for the next 10 years. Your name, address, workplace, license plate number, photo, and conviction record must be posted in the registry for public access on the internet.
- Failing to maintain regular registration and keep your personal information up to date can result in new criminal charges and convictions.
- You may be unable to work in your field of choice, live in your neighborhood of choice, or be accepted into a college.
What To Do If You Are Charged With A Sex Crime
How to Protect Yourself if You are Facing an Unlawful Sexual Conduct Charge
If you have been arrested for the crime of unlawful sexual conduct with a minor of age 16 or 17 in the state of Utah, you need to contact a Salt Lake City, UT sex crime defense lawyer that will make sure that all your rights are fully protected throughout the legal process and build the strongest possible defense for you.
Best Sex Crime Defense Lawyers, Utah
Get the Defense You Need to Help Avoid the Worst Punishments!
Wasatch Defense Lawyers in Salt Lake City are experienced in Utah sex crime defense. We start immediately working to keep you out of jail and prevent having you added to the sex offender registry. We may be able to have the charges against you entirely dropped or greatly reduced or have the sentence for conviction minimized.