Reckless Driving Defense Lawyer in Utah
If you are accused of reckless driving in Utah, do not assume that the prosecutor will go easy on you. You need an experienced defense attorney who will be with you every step of the way and who will defend you with zeal. If you have been charged with driving recklessly, call Wasatch Defense Lawyers at 801.845.3494 today for a no-obligation case review.
Reckless Driving Consequences in Utah
It is so easy to get charged with reckless driving, and misdemeanors in Utah carry a punishment of up to one year in local or county jail and/or court fines, as well as a criminal record. An individual who violates Utah Code § 41-6a-528 is guilty of a class B. misdemeanor. Reckless driving is considered a traffic offense committed in two ways; the first, a willful disregard for the welfare of individuals or property, and the second way you could commit reckless driving is if you commit three or more moving traffic offenses in a sequence of acts taking place within a continuous driving period covering a total distance of 3 miles or less.
The explanation of reckless driving is very ambiguous. What one individual may think through as unruly or malicious disregard may be very diverse from what another individual may think. Similarly, what may be unruly or malicious disregard in one scenario might not be in another. This means reckless driving charges can be challenged in court built on the situations at the time the offense was supposedly committed.
Some common examples of actions that may constitute reckless driving include:
- Driving too fast for safety in poor weather conditions
- Driving under the influence
- Excessive speeding
- Refusing to stop at a stop sign
- Speeding up to run a red light
- Ignoring a police officer’s directives to pull over
- Ignoring the right of way which can cause an intersection accident
The Utah Driver License Point System
Utah gives points for moving traffic offenses established on the connection between accidents and violations. Getting more than 200 points on your driving record in a three-year span may result in your driving privileges being put on hold. Nevertheless, you can clear your record if you drive cautiously. Half of the points can be removed on your driving record if you drive one year without being found guilty of a violation of moving traffic. All points on your score will be removed if you drive without a moving traffic offense in 2 years. By attending a course in defensive driving, you get 50 points off your driving record once in a period of three-years.
Get a Free Consultation with a Criminal Defense Attorney in Utah Today
At Wasatch Defense Lawyers, we have years of experience handling cases involving reckless driving and understand the steps that it takes to effectively investigate the matter and build an effective defense. Make the right decision to protect your reputation and future. We are the Utah criminal defense lawyers to call, contact us for your consultation today.