Prostitution Defense Lawyer in Utah
Prostitution is one of the most strongly judged moral crimes in our legal system, and Utah is one of the most conservative states in the U.S.A. Charges of prostitution are taken very seriously in Utah and offenders are typically given harsh penalties. Being found guilty of prostitution can devastate your personal and professional life. Prosecutors aggressively pursue convictions in prostitution cases because the community often demands quick and harsh punishments when it comes to sex-related crimes. Therefore, if you have been charged with prostitution, you need a prostitution lawyer that is experienced in defending against these types of charges.
If you want a defense attorney who will make a formidable opponent to any prosecutor, you should contact Wasatch Defense Lawyers today for a FREE case consultation. We have a reputation in Utah for winning even the most difficult cases. Don’t delay – contact us right away!
Prostitution Laws in Utah
Is Prostitution Legal in Utah?
Sometimes referred to as the “world’s oldest profession” prostitution has been the source of income for many people in America since the 18th century or before. Although prostitution was once legal, that is no longer the case in any state in the U.S. with the exception of Nevada.
There have been laws in place since the early 1970s that prohibit prostitution in most states. The laws forbid anyone from providing — or even offering to provide money in exchange for any type of sexual contact. In addition to punishing those that offer or provide sex in exchange for money, the law also punishes those that purchase sexual favors.
The penalties for prostitution range from Class B misdemeanor to felony charges.
- Third-degree felony – Prostitution could result in a third-degree felony penalty if you engage in solicitation or prostitution if you know that you are HIV positive. Even if you have only solicited or haven’t even infected the other person, it is still a felony.
- Class A misdemeanor – If you have been previously convicted of prostitution, then the penalty is a Class A misdemeanor.
- Class B misdemeanor – Exchanging or offering to exchange sex in return for money or valuables is a Class B misdemeanor in Utah.
Legal Consequences of Prostitution in Utah
If you are found guilty of prostitution, then you could face both fines and jail time. A Class B misdemeanor could equal as much as six months spent in a jail cell as well as fines of up to $1,000.
The legal consequences of prostitution as a third-degree felony means that you’ll likely face up to five years incarceration and fines of up to $5,000. You could face even higher fines and more jail time if the charge relates to child prostitution or solicitation of a minor.
Contact Wasatch Defense Lawyers for a Free Prostitute Case Evaluation
Contact Wasatch Defense Attorneys if you have been accused of prostitution for your FREE case evaluation. We’ll act quickly to help reduce the consequences or clear your name all together.