Charges of Burglary are serious in the state of Utah, and a conviction will likely change one’s life forever. To avoid the harshest punishments, it is essential to speak with a burglary lawyer as soon as possible. Our vast experience in criminal defense allows us to provide you with the best outcome possible for your burglary case. We are always ready to listen to your situation and offer you expert legal advice on the most suitable steps to protecting your rights and defending yourself against prosecution in burglary charges.
If you have been accused of burglary in Utah, our criminal defense lawyers are here for you. Call or complete our online contact form to schedule a free case review.
Burglary Laws in Utah
The Utah Code 76-6-202 defines burglar as a person who unlawfully gets into a building or a portion of it with the intent to commit:
- A felony
- Lewdness in violation of Section 76-9-702 or Section 76-9-702.5
- Sexual battery
If the burglary is committed in a residential building, it is considered a second-degree felony. If it is committed in any other building, it is a third-degree felony. However, certain factors can increase the level of offense to an aggravated burglary in either type of offense. These factors include:
- If the offender causes bodily harm to any person
- If the offender has, threatens or uses a dangerous weapon or an explosive against a person or people
In Utah, it is the intention to commit any of the mentioned crimes that matters in a burglary conviction and not the actual crime.
Burglary Sentence You Face if Found Guilty
When coming up with burglary charges the judge considers such factors as:
- Where the incident happened. Was it a residential, commercial, or an abandoned property?
- The type and extent of the crime the defendant intended to commit. For instance, the judge will ask whether the defendant used any force during the crime
- Whether the defendant had any weapons
- Past criminal records such as previous burglary convictions
Utah’s laws classify aggravated burglary as a first-degree offense. The charge attracts a fine of up to $10,000 and 5 years imprisonment. If the burglary was committed in a residential setting, this is a second-degree felony. The burglary charges could include one to 15 years imprisonment and a fine of up to $10,000. Third-degree burglaries felonies in Utah are punished by up to five years imprisonment alongside a fine of up to $5,000.
Burglary Charges in Utah? Get a Free Case Evaluation
No matter how baseless the accusations are that are made against you. No matter how much the evidence points to your innocence. No matter how pristine your reputation may be before the charges. You are in grave danger of losing everything if you’re found guilty. Having the right law firm behind you when you are facing a serious charge like burglary is extremely important. If you have been charged with burglary, a skilled criminal defense attorney may be able to help you retain your freedoms. Contact our law firm for a free consultation by calling us at 801-845-3446 or filling our online form.