First Offense DUI Defense Attorney in Salt Lake City, Utah
Under Utah DUI laws, even a conviction of a DUI first offense can lead to shocking punishments, possibly including a jail sentence. It can also cost you a big fine, mandatory counseling, community service, and other penalties. Your driver’s license will be suspended, and you will have a criminal record of Driving Under the Influence of alcohol. As you can see, a first-offense DUI conviction carries serious consequences. So, if you are arrested for this crime, you will need an experienced criminal defense lawyer.
If you are charged with DUI, contact Wasatch Defense Lawyers to help you build the strongest possible defense and minimize the charges and penalties to the fullest extent possible.
First Offense DUI Utah Penalties
A Utah DUI conviction for a first offense in Utah is either a Class B or Class A misdemeanor. A Class A first-offense DUI can carry considerably larger penalties. For example, fines may be 250% higher than the basic amount stated below. Either class of DUI carries a range of possible punishments:
- From two days of mandatory jail time to 180 days in state prison
- Or 48 hours of community service instead of jail time
- Fines up to a maximum of nearly $1,400
- 120 days driver’s license suspension
- Mandatory alcohol abuse treatment
Exceeding BAC Limit: If your Blood Alcohol Concentration is 0.5 grams or above, you will also probably be required to have an ignition interlock device on your car for a year. You will also have a criminal record of a DUI conviction.
You Need a Salt Lake City DUI Lawyer Who Can Win
Some defendants in first-offense DUI cases enter Utah courts on their own, assuming that a first offense is not a serious charge. However, a first-offense DUI is not like a minor traffic violation. It’s a serious crime in the state of Utah. Tough penalties are handed down by judges in 1st offense DUI cases, especially in Class A misdemeanor cases. Even if you’re convicted of a Class B misdemeanor DUI first-offense crime, you can receive a whole array of serious punishments, including multiple of those listed above. Plus, a criminal record can prevent you from getting a job you want, a place to live in your preferred area, and much more.
So, be sure you have an experienced criminal defense attorney who is familiar with the Utah court system and knows how to build the best possible DUI defense strategy based on the unique details of your case.
Best Utah DUI Attorney – Wasatch Defense Lawyers
You should call Wasatch for guidance from a DUI lawyer before you give a statement to law enforcement. We can often have charges reduced and even dropped completely in some situations. We will provide you with a free assessment of your legal case and help you understand all your options. We’re focused on keeping you out of jail and free from having a criminal record.
If you face DUI charges, call Wasatch Defense Lawyers at (901-980-9965), or contact us here on our website to schedule a free consultation to discuss your best options.
Guard Your Rights
Do NOT Waive Your Right to Legal Counsel! Authorities will try get you to incriminate yourself and suggest there is no need for an attorney. Stay calm and call us immediately: 801.980.9965
Experience You Can Trust
We have represented thousands of clients, with countless difficulties and challenges, for more than 100 years. Less than 1% of our clients have ever been incarcerated.
Compassionate & Aggressive
Whether you have a family, financial, or criminal matter – our ethical, caring attorneys listen to YOU and use their expertise and a strong, hands-on approach to get you the best result.