Vehicular Manslaughter Lawyer in Utah
If you have been charged with vehicular manslaughter in Utah, you need a criminal defense attorney with extensive experience specifically handling manslaughter cases to advocate on your behalf. Settling for anything less than aggressive representation in the state of Utah could mean harsh sentencing involving several years behind bars. Here at Wasatch Defense Lawyers, we have a reputation for providing the highest level of qualified representation in vehicular manslaughter cases in Utah courts. We are ready and able to help you.
To set up a free consultation with an attorney to discuss your case, contact us online or call 801-980-9965 today!
What is Vehicular Manslaughter?
Vehicular manslaughter involves the death of one or more people as the result of criminal negligence involving the use of a motor vehicle. Specifically, vehicular manslaughter is most often associated with drunk or reckless driving. When fatal accidents are suspected to be DUI-related, vehicular manslaughter is most often the primary charge filed.
When are Vehicular Manslaughter Charges Filed?
Prosecutors in the state of Utah take vehicular manslaughter seriously. Reckless or negligent driving–as well as driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs–often results in serious prison time.
Per Utah Code § 76-5-204, vehicular manslaughter charges can be brought in one of two major scenarios:
- Someone guilty of murder receives an offense reduction
- Someone causes a person’s death through reckless behavior behind the wheel
How is Murder Different from Vehicular Manslaughter?
The key difference between murder and manslaughter is motive. Murder involves the intentional act to kill or seriously injure a person or people. Manslaughter involves an act of being reckless that results in death or serious injury. Examples of reckless driving that could end in vehicular manslaughter include but are not limited to; illegal driving, drunk driving, or excessive speeding that ends with one or more fatalities. Distracted driving from texting can be considered reckless in certain situations as well.
What are the Charges for Vehicular Manslaughter in Utah?
The presumptive sentence for the second-degree felony of vehicular manslaughter in Utah is 15 years in prison and a maximum $10,000 in fines. Additionally, the driver’s license is revoked.
Contact Wasatch Defense Lawyers if You are Facing Vehicular Manslaughter charges in Utah?
The most important step you can take to protect your future is to call the right criminal defense attorney as soon as possible. Utah laws regarding vehicular manslaughter are particularly complex and involve severe sentencing, so it is vital that you secure the best representation who will use every resource available to fight for your freedom.
The defense team at Wasatch Defense Lawyers can increase your chance for a reduction or even dismissal in charges depending on the details of your case. We are ready and able to argue manslaughter charges down to negligent homicide or even seek acquittal where possible. We have successfully handled many manslaughter cases from a wide range of circumstances and evidence.
If you are currently facing a vehicular manslaughter charge, contact our offices today at 801-980-9965 to schedule a free, confidential consultation to begin taking back control of your life and legal issues.
Let Wasatch Defense Lawyers support you in this difficult time. Call us today for a free case review 801.980.9965.
Guard Your Rights
Do NOT Waive Your Right to Legal Counsel! Authorities will try get you to incriminate yourself and suggest there is no need for an attorney. Stay calm and call us immediately: 801.980.9965
Experience You Can Trust
We have represented thousands of clients, with countless difficulties and challenges, for more than 100 years. Less than 1% of our clients have ever been incarcerated.
Compassionate & Aggressive
Whether you have a family, financial, or criminal matter – our ethical, caring attorneys listen to YOU and use their expertise and a strong, hands-on approach to get you the best result.
Latest posts by Craig R. Chlarson (see all)
- Sexual Solicitation vs Prostitution in Utah - August 16, 2017
- 5 Protected Zones That Are Off-Limits to Sex Offenders - July 26, 2017
- What is Enticing a Minor in Utah? - June 16, 2017