Indecent Exposure Defense Lawyer in Utah

Download PDF

Indecent Exposure Defense Lawyer in Utah

If you, a family member or loved one has been charged with indecent exposure or lewdness in Utah, it is crucial that you seek immediate representation by an experienced, indecent exposure lawyer to examine your case and help determine your legal options. Contact Wasatch Defense Attorneys today for a FREE consultation at 801-845-3509.

What is Indecent Exposure?

The words ‘indecent exposure’ are a legal term that refer to the act of exposing one’s genitals in a public setting and is classified as a sex crime in the state of Utah. A charge of indecent exposure, or lewdness, can carry harsh penalties including fines and jail time that will depend on the nature of the offense and previous convictions. An offense against public order and decency, of bodily exposure, in the presence of another person who is fourteen years of age or older that will knowingly cause alarm is considered indecent exposure or lewdness according to Utah criminal code section 76-9-702: Lewdness.

The Beehive State’s indecent exposure law, Utah Criminal Code section 76-9-702 outlines the following:

First or Second Violation of Indecent Exposure
A first or second violation of indecent exposure is considered a class B misdemeanor and is punishable by a fine of up to $2,500 and/or up to a six-month jail sentence, if convicted. Specific exposure in public is defined as revealing genitals, the pubic area, buttocks, anus or the female breast below the top of the areola. The act of indecent exposure does not include sexual intercourse, sodomy or masturbation.

Indecent Exposure Third-Degree Felony
The penalty for indecent exposure convicted as a third-degree felony carries fines of up to $5,000 and/or up to five years imprisonment. The conviction of indecent exposure or lewdness is escalated to a third-degree felony if the follow circumstances are involved:

  • Has already been convicted of lewdness two or more times.
  • The accused person is a convicted sex offender in violation of sex offender restrictions: Utah Code of Criminal Procedures 77-27-21.7.
  • Has previously been convicted of lewdness involving a child.

Public Urination

It is illegal to urinate or defecate in a public place other than a public restroom in the state of Utah. Depending on the circumstances, the offense of public urination can be charged as a class C misdemeanor or lewdness, which is generally a class B misdemeanor. While a class C misdemeanor carries a punishment of up to $750 in fines and/or up to 90 days in jail, a class B misdemeanor is punishable by fines of up to $1,000 and/or up to six months in jail.

Choose an Experienced Defense Attorney for a Complimentary Indecent Exposure Case Review

If you have been charged with lewdness or indecent exposure in Utah, it is important to contact a qualified, experienced indecent exposure attorney to safeguard your legal rights and ensure the best possible outcome. Wasatch Defense Lawyers believe that everyone deserves a fair trial and we are here to support you and your family during this difficult time. Call us today for a free, no-obligation case review at 801-845-3509.